- Board Policies
(As of July 1, 2018)
The Nevada State Board of Optometry adopted these policies to assist in the consistent enforcement of Nevada’s statutes and regulations applicable to the practice of optometry and to conduct the Board’s authorized functions under the law.
These policies do not replace our statutes and regulations (NRS & NAC Chapters 636), and where they conflict, the statutes and regulations shall take precedence.
Policy Number 1 – Correspondence
All official correspondence with the Board must be made through the Board’s website, to the Executive Director by mail at Post Office Box 1824, Carson City, Nevada 89702, by email to firstname.lastname@example.org or via fax to 775-305-0105.
Policy Number 2 – Change in Location of Practice
NRS 636.370 and this policy require each optometrist to notify the Board of the place of his or her practice or any change in location of that practice, in writing prior to the date the change becomes effective.
Policy Number 3 – Application Fees
The Application for Licensure as an optometrist in the State of Nevada may be downloaded from the Board’s website https://nvoptometry.org. The applicant must submit the application; all required supporting materials and the fee to the Board. Once the applicant has passed the online law exam, and all required documentation in support of the application is received in the Board office, the Executive Director will review, reject or approve the application and provide notice to the applicant within 30 days. These policies apply to both new licensees and applicants for licensure by endorsement.
Upon receipt of notice of approval of his/her application, the applicant must submit the required license fee and identify his/her practice location to the Board.
Within 60 days of receipt of all required information, the licensee will be provided a licensure certificate for display.
Policy Number 4 – Duplicate Document Fees
The Board is authorized by law to charge a reasonable fee for duplication of documents. The Board is authorized to charge up to $0.60 per page for copying, mailing, and duplication of physical documents:
Currently $0.25 per page
Policy Number 5 – License Renewal
Pursuant to NRS 636.250, a licensee (active or inactive) must renew his or her license by March 1 of each year. For renewal by mail to be timely, the United States Postal Service must postmark it before March 1. Electronic renewal is effective upon receipt of all required information and fees. It is the renewing licensee’s responsibility to confirm receipt of renewal materials.
If a license is not renewed by March 1, the license will be suspended. A license may be relieved from suspension if the licensee renews before July 1 and pays a penalty of $250.00 as authorized by NRS 636.285, plus the renewal fee. If the license renewal is received after June 30 and before January 1, a $500 penalty will attach to relieve a license from suspension. As of January 1, the license will expire, and if the former licensee wishes to practice in Nevada, he or she must apply as though no previous licensure existed.
Policy Number 6 – License Renewal and Education Requirements
Pursuant to NRS 636.250, a licensee must renew his/her license by March 1 of each year. License renewal requires a completed renewal application, fees, and proof of appropriate Continuing Education based on license and certification requirements. (See Policy No. 7)
Policy Number 7 – Continuing Education
NRS 636.260 requires the renewal fee and satisfactory evidence that the licensee, within the 12-month period immediately preceding license renewal, has completed the required number of hours of continuing education approved by the Board.
The continuing education requirements for licensees certified in diagnostic pharmaceutical agents may not exceed 24 hours per 12-month period. The Board has established 18 hours as the requirement for licensees who are certified in diagnostic pharmaceutical agents, of which 5 hours may be practice management. All of the 18 hours may be by live attendance, by Internet, correspondence or video. Licensees submitting courses taken via the Internet, correspondence or video must submit proof they received a grade of 75% or higher on the course exam.
The Board counts hours in 0.25-hour increments using the 1/4 hour nearest the actual teaching time, with the exception that 50-minute lectures are counted as one hour in accord with academic tradition.
The requirement for licensees who are certified in therapeutic pharmaceutical agents may not exceed 50 hours per 12-month period. The Board has established 30 hours as the requirement for licensees who are certified in therapeutic pharmaceutical agents. Of the 30 hours, not fewer than 15 hours must be TPA-related. Up to five hours may be practice management. Any or all of the 30 hours may be completed by live attendance, or by Internet, correspondence or video. Licensees submitting courses taken via the Internet, correspondence or video must submit proof they have received a grade of 75% or higher on the course exam.
The Board reviews pre-approved providers periodically to verify adherence to established standards and hours for reporting. The Board has established two categories of acceptable and approved continuing education:
1. Pre-approved – This category requires the licensee to submit a signed or verified Continuing Education Attendance form or the ARBO/OE Tracker summary through which attendance is certified. Other certifications may be submitted. Certification can be by stamp or signature. A list of pre-approved providers appears below.
1. All schools and colleges of optometry, but not their affiliates. For example, alumni associations are affiliates and are not considered pre-approved providers. NOTE: Continuing Education will NOT be accepted for coursework from Optocase and/or Queens University.
- 2. The following AOA & U.S. Affiliated Associations:
– Alabama Optometric Association
– Alaska Optometric Association
– Arizona Optometric Association
– Arkansas Optometric Association
– Armed Forces Optometric Association
– California Optometric Association
– Colorado Optometric Association
– Connecticut Optometric Association
– Delaware Optometric Association
– Optometric Society of the District of Columbia
– Florida Optometric Association
– Georgia Optometric Association
– Hawaii Optometric Association
– Idaho Optometric Association
– Illinois Optometric Association
– Indiana Optometric Association
– Iowa Optometric Association
– Kansas Optometric Association
– Kentucky Optometric Association
– Louisiana State Association of Optometrists
– Maine Optometric Association
– Maryland Optometric Association
– Massachusetts Society of Optometrists
– Michigan Optometric Association
– Mississippi Optometric Association
– Missouri Optometric Association
– Montana Optometric Association
– Nebraska Optometric Association
– Nevada State Optometric Association
– New Hampshire Optometric Association
– New Jersey Optometric Association
– New Mexico Optometric Association
– New York State Optometric Association
– North Carolina Optometric Association
– North Dakota Optometric Association
– Ohio Optometric Association
– Oklahoma Optometric Association
– Oregon Optometric Association
– Pennsylvania Optometric Association
– Rhode Island Optometric Association
– South Carolina Optometric Association
– South Dakota Optometric Society/South Dakota State Board of Optometric Examiners
– Tennessee Optometric Association
– Texas Optometric Association
– Utah Optometric Association
– Vermont Optometric Association
– Virginia Optometric Association
– Washington Optometric Association
– West Virginia Optometric Association
– Wisconsin Optometric Association
– Wyoming Optometric Association
3. Regional Councils:
– Mountain West Council of Optometrists
– New England Council of Optometrists
– North Central States Optometric Council
– Optometric Council of the National Capital Region
– Southern Council of Optometrists
– Southern Council of Optometry
– Great Western Council of Optometry (GWCO)
4. U.S. Government:
– Veterans Administration
– Academy of Health Sciences, USA
– Air National Guard Optometric Society
– Brooke Army Medical Center
– Department of the Army – Office of the Surgeon General, 18th Medical Command, 2291st U.S.A.H. [Reserve]
– Ireland Army Community Hospital Optometry Section
– Naval Medical Command – Southwest Region – Naval Hospital
– School of Health Care Sciences, USAF, Sheppard AFB, TX
– Department of Biomedical Sciences MSDB
– Tri Service Optometric Society – Naval Medical Clinic, Barbar’s Point Naval Air Station
– Optometric Extension Program Foundation, Inc.
– Eastern State Optometric Congress
– Great Lakes Optometric Congress
– Heart of American Optometric Congress
– The Invitational Skeffington Symposium
– Mid-American Vision Conference
– Mountain States Congress of Optometry
– New Jersey Optometric Extension Program
– Northeast Congress of Optometry
– Northwest Congress of Optometry
– Northeast Vision Conference
– Reading Advanced Behavioral Vision Seminar
– Rosario Seminar
– San Jose Vision Therapy Conference
– Southwest California Behavioral Vision Seminar
– Southern California Vision Forum
– Summerville Behavioral Seminars
– Sun Valley Behavioral Vision Seminar
– American Academy of Optometry
– National Eye Research Foundation
– Northern Rockies Optometric Conf.
– Council on Practitioner Educ. of the IAB
– College of Optometry and Vision Development [COVD]
7. Any state ophthalmologic or optometric society.
8. Any regional or national ophthalmologic association.
9. Any medical school affiliated ophthalmology residency program.
10. Any COPE approved course. EXCEPTION: The Board will not accept CE from Queens University or Optocase, regardless of COPE approval.
2. Other – Other providers will be approved on an individual basis. Such providers may submit the course syllabus or programs in advance for approval or may be considered when the licensee submits a CE Summary Form. The licensee will receive notice from the Board only if the course is not approved.
Policy Number 8 – Accredited Colleges of Optometry
Pursuant to NRS 636.135, only certain schools and colleges of optometry are accredited by the Nevada Board of Optometry. The Board shall rely on the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) for information regarding accreditation.
Policy Number 9 – Multiple Verifications of License
Any person requesting multiple verifications of licenses may be required by the Executive Director to make such requests in writing and pay a fee of $25.00. Any person requesting physical copies of disciplinary information concerning a licensee, or physical copies of a file must make the request in writing, and pay a fee of $5.00 for any file up to 20 pages, and $0.25 per page thereafter.
Policy Number 10 – Use of Fictitious Names
NRS 636.350 requires that each licensee, prior practicing under an assumed or fictitious name, must be issued a certificate from the Board. The Fictitious Name Application must be approved before the licensee commences using the assumed or fictitious name. Any licensee practicing at a medical or surgical facility who applies for registration of an assumed or fictitious name to be used at the facility must include his/her professional designation in the name.
Policy Number 11 – Continuing Education Submission
A licensee shall not report or submit his/her continuing education information to the Board until the licensee has sufficient hours to fulfill the total requirements for the license year. Interim submission of continuing education will not be accepted.
Policy Number 12 – Operating Expenses
The Board shall maintain in an account, separate from its operating account, liquefiable funds estimated to be sufficient to pay the operating expenses of the Board for a thirteen (13) month period.
Policy Number 13 – Contact with Members of the Board
Licensees should refrain from contacting members appointed to the State Board of Optometry at their homes or offices regarding Board matters and operations, and should instead contact the Executive Director. Only when a licensee wishes to shield his or her identity from the staff for good cause, or the issue involves the conduct of the Executive Director, should a Board member be contacted directly.
Policy Number 14 – Hydrocodone with Acetaminophen
The presumed maximum prescription authorized for Hydrocodone with Acetaminophen (whether 5/325 or 10/325) is 90 MME over a 72-hour period.